Meet the Boogie Woogie bird…

October 28, 2009 at 7:05 pm 1 comment

Well that’s what we used to call him. He has a delightful song and he puzzled my mother, who couldn’t work out what he was. She sent me off to work (I conveniently worked at a zoo) with the instruction to ask someone about “a little grey bird that says boogie woogie”.

I remember sidling up to a keeper who I thought would know. He didn’t bat an eyelid and said it was a Grey Shrike Thrush.

I’m not sure how many are actually around – there’s more than one, that’s for sure. This little chap here was visiting the other morning.

IMG_0059

But then he saw the most beautiful creature he’d ever seen… himself.

IMG_0062

As you can tell by the garage window, they’re quite enamored with their reflection. My parents have gone as far to install a fellow like this:

 largeowl_000

He sits in the family room window to deter the birds from sitting on the boots outside while they gaze adoringly at themselves. It has failed. Big time.

It has failed so much that, to my delight, one of the thrushes bought his lady friend to the house, and then proceeded to do his elaborate courtship dance for her in front of the owl. I have no idea what happened after they flew off together but I’d like to think his efforts were rewarded.

Catch ya…
K

Entry filed under: Life.

Close-up… Sky…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sharon  |  October 29, 2009 at 8:06 am

    They are such characters – the Grey Shrike Thrush. I like them, they probably are one of my favourites.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

More


