My confessions…

June 22, 2009 at 7:40 pm 2 comments

I am here. Still breathing. This last month hasn’t been busy, as such, but there have been things happening that have been keeping my mind, if not my hands, occupied.

Firstly, to cut a very long story short, my hands are operating at about 50% – some days less. I had a reaction to some shampoo, which caused my immune system to go haywire, and amongst the medical things I’m dealing with, the middle fingers of both my hands won’t close. You’d be surprised what you can’t do with one finger of each hand out of commission. Blood test, x-rays, ultrasounds – and I still have no idea what is going on. All I do know, is I can’t knit, can barely sew, can’t put socks on Mr A, somedays I can’t even open the car door.

Secondly, my dad, who battled and beat the big C a few years ago found out that it’s back. He was to start radiotherapy a few weeks ago, but they can’t decide whether it’s in the bone of his leg or not, so he’s having hormone treatment for 6 months before starting radiotherapy at the beginning of next year. And he still doesn’t have fences on his farm.

Through all this, we just keep on rolling. We’ve discovered the joys of Skype – Mr A won’t actually talk on the phone anymore. He took to it like a duck to water.

Video call snapshot 1

Video call snapshot 2

 

And you can see my parents are into it, and love seeing the boys – despite the fact they live 15 minutes away and see them at least once a week.

I have no real photos (can’t hold the camera), no knitting or sewing (ditto) and no new kits (although it is getting easier to mouse). Sorry about that.

So, while there’s a fair bit of doom and gloom around here, we’re enjoying a freezing winter, with the occasional glorious winter day like today to keep us happy. We’ve all got a good attitude about what life has thrown our way this year, and that is helping us all get through each day.

Catch ya…
K

Entry filed under: Life.

7 little monkeys… End of the holidays…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Deb  |  June 23, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    huge hugs sweetie, it’s been quite a roller-coaster hasn’t it? I’m so glad you’ve updated us. rebuilding is soooo slow. sending many good thoughts for your Dad, it’s hard to understand why this kind of stuff keeps happening. keep well, and enjoy these lovely winter days when we get them (another lovely one here today after the fog cleared). one of these days we’ll have to meet at the park in K or L, ok?

    Reply
  • 2. Priscilla  |  June 28, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Big hugs! I’m sorry about your Dad, and you, what a horrible reaction to a shampoo, I bet you will never buy that brand again! I wonder if anyone else has had a similar reaction, not a fun time for you at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

More


