Shoe shopping with toddler 101…

April 24, 2008 at 1:43 pm 3 comments

I have a family wedding to go to on the weekend. I have a gorgeous skirt (the only thing I’ve bought at full price for years, but I loved it as soon as I saw it), a yummy necklace, nice top, bag – and shoes that would be ok, but not as nice as a pair of black boots.

I thought I’d head out this morning, and see if I could get some. I am not a shoe kinda girl (I am more of a camera kinda girl, but I digress) so the thought of shoe shopping at any time is enough to make me break out in a cold sweat. Going shoe shopping with a toddler is enough to tip me over the edge.

Turns out, shoe shopping went easier than I thought. Turns out, if you want boots that go over your ankle and up to your knees, you can’t have any calves. Turns out, I have calves. And big feet. I settled for a nice sensible black heel and turned to more important matters – yarn.

Since the main reason for my trip out was the shoes, the yarn was going to be a small part of the adventure. We went to the yarn shop, bought the pattern, established that they didn’t have enough of the right kind of yarn and headed back to grab it, quickly, from Kmart.

Being a sensible woman, knowing that I wanted 13 balls, knowing where it was in the store and what colour I wanted, I didn’t put Mr A in the pusher.

Mistake.

All was going well (by well I mean I knew he was still in the store somewhere, there was no blood and the police hadn’t been summoned) and we were just about at the checkout when he decided that enough was enough.

So I lined up at Register 7, basket of yarn in one arm, very loud, irritated toddler wedged firmly under my right arm. I manage to purchase the yarn with Mr A still horizontal under my arm, much to the amusement of staff.

As I was walking out, I was thinking, “How do they know I’m not kidnapping this kid?” He so obviously didn’t want to be with me and, considering the noise he was making, I was very likely torturing him. And then I thought, if he didn’t know me, he’d be quietly going along, so it was proof that he was mine that he was making such a racket.

Then I realised that these were slightly mad thoughts to be having, especially so early in the day. So, we came home and I’m now strutting around in tracky dacks and high heels while Mr A is napping. I’m about to swatch with the new yarn and contemplate how it is I’ve got to this point in my life where I can be nonchalant about tucking another human being under my arm while I shop.

Catch ya…
K

Entry filed under: Life.

Autumnal… Hey, those people look like ants…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue Jones  |  April 24, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Photos…. we want photos. I want to see you in tracky dacks and high heels!! lol

    Reply
  • 2. Melinda  |  April 25, 2008 at 2:20 am

    Oh yeah- that has been happening to me a lot lately with my 2.5 yr old little darling. I can’t even count the number of times I’ve carried her out of stores lately tucked under my arm like a sack of potatoes with her kicking and screaming…. and my 5 year old wonders why we don’t go places very often LOL!

    Reply
  • 3. Amber  |  April 25, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Oh what a sight, LOL. I agree with Sue, photos please 🙂

    Sorry i missed you the other day 😦 the ONLY day i wasn’t at work all year. So i still have your little pressie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

More


