Busy, busy, busy…

April 22, 2008 at 1:51 pm 3 comments

We made it home from our holidays – just. Poor Mr L became sick in the night, so instead of a drive over the big mountains, we came home via Melbourne. Same driving time, 100 km’s more, so not too bad, all things considered.

Since we’ve got back I’ve been busy, busy.

I’ve made this cupcake pincushion from this book:

IMG_2442

I’ve also attempted to knit a cupcake. It’s very dodgy but Mr A loves it. He calls it a “bat-day” cake (birthday cake).

IMG_2435

I had another go – please tell me there’s some improvement!

IMG_2436

My brother and I took our boys over to see Grandpa digging spuds last week.

IMG_2295

This was Mr A’s first taste of a tractor. He loved it.

IMG_2309

 

IMG_2318

He loved it so much that he didn’t want to get out. Here he is on his second row up and down, steering on Grandpa’s knee. OH&S would have a cow but he was a happy little monkey.

IMG_2353

Then we grabbed some of the freshly dug spuds and took them home for lunch. Such a nice morning out.

I’ve put off blogging because I wanted to get a photo of something special to share.

IMG_2438

I bought this plate.

IMG_2437

Ok, it’s not the prettiest, most desirable plate in the universe. It was made some time between 1846 and 1860 in Burslem, England by a firm called Cork and Edge.

IMG_2441

The reason why it’s special is that Joseph Edge, who was the joint owner of the firm, is my great great great great grandfather. I’m so excited to have something that was made in this pottery and that has such a strong link to my family. I only wish my grandmother was still alive so I could share it with her. I know she would have been amazed and delighted.

Ok, enough rabbiting on from me. I’ll be back later on with some new stuff.

Catch ya…
K

Entry filed under: Digi Stuff, Life, New Stuff.

Last day… Autumnal…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Deb  |  April 22, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    love the pincushions, great pics of the spud farming (and I won’t tell OH&S if you don’t LOL), and I totally get you about the plate – it IS cool, and all about the connections (but even without the connections, it’s cool)

    Reply
  • 2. Sue Jones  |  April 24, 2008 at 6:18 am

    How wonderful to have a plate that has a family connection. (I have a handpainted plate that came from my relatives in Hungary).
    This is gorgeous Karen.
    And I’m not about to tell OH&S either. lol The photos are terrific as always.
    Now…. did I see an improvement in your bat cake??? ummmm Of course I did!! The second one looks like it had extra time to rise in the oven. lol

    Reply
  • 3. Hilary Soper  |  November 21, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Glad to find another cousin. Joseph Edge and Benjamin Cork were my 3 x great grandfather. Happy to share information with you. I have quite a few pieces of their pottery – Ebay is an excellent source. Regards, Hilary

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

More


