Back to school…

January 30, 2008 at 8:37 am 2 comments

My big boy is off to school today. When I look at these photos I can see how much he’s grown. These are from Kinder, Prep, Grade One and today, Grade Three.

first_2008

Grade Two? There is no Grade Two.

We have known for a while that Mr L wasn’t what might be loosely termed as a “normal” child. He started reading at 19 months. He read my shopping list to me on his second birthday. He was reading picture books to himself and aloud by three and moved on to bigger books by four. His mind is an amazing thing. He’s one of those kids his teachers never forget, fortunately for good reasons.

Last year we made the decision to go straight from Grade One to Three. The school broached the idea with us, not that we didn’t see it coming for years, and decided now is the right time. Academically, he’s way ahead – socially, he’s still finding his way. Luckily he’s in a fantastic school with a wonderfully supportive staff so we have every belief that this is the best for him and he will thrive.

But it’s still scary for us, as parents, you know? Mr L is fine with it. He was in with what are now his peers last year, and spent a lot of time in Grade One working on Maths in the Grade 3/4 room. He can’t wait to get back to work.

Fingers crossed for a smooth transition for us all.

The start of the school year also means it’s back to work for me. I’ve started working on some new bits and pieces for my store, which will be up hopefully by the end of the week.

I also have to go and cook some pretend food in a pretend kitchen with my very real little boy, who is still another 2 years off Kinder. Today, I’m very thankful that I have two more years with him at home (mind you, ask me later in the middle of one of his crazy tantrums and the answer might be different!)

Catch ya…
K

Entry filed under: Digi Stuff, Life.

Phew… Best beach in the world…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  January 30, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Aww well I hope he has a lovely time in his new class 😀 And I hope the transition is smooth for him and you too! 🙂

    Gosh, you can see just how much he has grown looking at all those photo’s 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Monique  |  January 31, 2008 at 5:09 am

    Wow what a smart little boy you have! I hope he has a great transition! And I love that you’ve taken a photo the first day of each school year, what a wonderful way to see him growing up! Have a great day! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

More


