I am Sock Queen, hear me roar…

October 4, 2007 at 12:11 pm 1 comment

I am still knitting madly. The weather isn’t warm enough to abandon it, but it is nice enough to sit outside with the boys and knit while they run wild.

I’m on my second pair of “serious” socks. I had a couple of “test” socks just to get the idea, then I attempted the first real pair using 2x 2.5mm circular needles, self striping sock yarn and *eeek* no pattern. Yes, I’m a slight over achiever. Here they are in all their glory:

IMG_0424

They’re not 100% right. The size is, and the pattern is, but the toe cast on (they’re knitted from the toe up) isn’t great, nor are the short rows on the heels. But I got the taste. I could see success of the horizon. So I cast on another pair.

This time, it was the Turkish cast on (so much better and so much easier) and then I spent a bit of time this morning, in between breaking up wresting matches between the unevenly matched 1 and 7 year olds (that 1 year old is the main culprit I have to say!) practicing picking up my short row wraps and bingo – I am Sock Queen. I am about 4 inches along and all is going great. I’m actually very impatient to get to the heel, now that I’ve got it sorted.

But I can be patient. I’m one month into the wait for my Ravelry invite. I reached critical mass last night – there are now more people behind me in the wait than in front of me. Mind you, there are still 7947 in front of me, but there are 8541 behind me now! It’s hard being #30628….

Catch ya…
K

Entry filed under: Life.

Introducing… What do you use?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Priscilla  |  October 8, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    Fantastic socks!! I wish I could knit but sadly my knitting skills are lacking any form of skill!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

More


