Absolutely knackered…

November 18, 2006 at 6:50 pm 1 comment

Considering the temperature was struggling to reach double figures on Wednesday, today was incredible. 28 degrees and perfect for the school’s birthday celebrations. I am exhausted, and all I did was help out on the registration table. I had the absolute privlege of meeting the oldest former student there today – he started school in 1917. Incredible.

And the stories I heard – oh my, the stories! It was a scrapbookers’ paradise, I tell you. The older men, especially the ones that finished school in the 1940’s, must have been little devils as children. I heard tales of geese locked in the girls toilets, the pony paddock, the time they set the cyprus tree on fire and the most amazing story about the time some of them put the school toilets on the train to another town (which I think tops my previous favourite, which was from my late grandmother, about the time a goanna wandered into the school grounds and ate the school cat).

Today served as another reminder that our stories, the ones that might seem so mundane to us, are the real treasures for future generaions. It wasn’t the birthday parties we went to, or the Easter Bunny’s visit – it was the kid who was your best mate, the one who showed you how to rub cyprus leaves on your hand so a caning wouldn’t sting as much, the girl who had the lovely curly hair, and later became your sister-in-law, the things you got up to that are so different to life now, yet strangely exciting and familiar. It’s the way of life that’s the thing to remember. It makes me want to scrap about that more.

Catch ya…
K

Entry filed under: Life.

Let me… Are you…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  November 19, 2006 at 4:08 am

    I love reading your very Australian blog, I’m sure that some of the things you write about only another Australian would understand.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

More


