Sometimes…

August 17, 2006 at 8:21 pm 5 comments

Well this is attempt three. The first post was a long and cathartic whine about the difficulties of raising a gifted child. The second was a less whiny version that got eaten by a cyber goblin, so this will be a totally reduced, low fat version.

Mr L is a gifted child. Officially. I am realising that gifted children have different worries and problems to most kids. We are realising that we need help to make sure we’re doing the best we can for him. We’ve never pushed him, and won’t start doing that now, but we need to talk to people who can advise us on what to do when he gets caught up in his own mind. Case in point – he got upset on the weekend because he can’t remember everything. He can remember more than you’d think possible for anyone, but there were a couple of inconsequential facts that he’d forgotten, and you would have thought it was the end of the world. We need to know how to deal with this.

OK, thanks for listening to that. It’s a big thing on my mind at the moment. That, and Mr A and his snuffly nose.

On a brighter note, my parents rang me tonight (when I was out attempting the weekly shop, so I became an obnoxious person shopping while talking on a mobile). They are the other side of Adelaide and will be home on Sunday. Yippee. I know when they’ve been away too long – Mr G starts saying, “It will be good when you’re parents are back”. dad.jpgTrue to form, they journeyed 150 kms out of the way to go to bakery that has delicious Cornish pasties. Dad, being Dad, bought 14 of them (some have made it to the freezer!). And while Mum is telling me this, she starts laughing and says, “And now he’s taking a photo of himself with his phone.” Sure enough, next thing a photo of dad comes through… That’s my dad, although you might be mistaken for thinking it’s Santa with that bushies beard. And for all my whinging about mobile phones with cameras, it’s good to see him. Can’t wait until they’re back.

Catch ya…
K

Entry filed under: Life.

I wouldn’t want to try and hide… Cats in jumpers…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  August 18, 2006 at 12:51 am

    Gifted children do have their own concerns, and this one in particular is common. I remember having similar issues as a child, and my brother (being even more gifted) was even worse. No advice for you, just {{{hugs}}}. And that is a mighty impressive beard on your dad there! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Cammy  |  August 18, 2006 at 1:03 am

    Karen, I just wanted to say that I think you are amazing for making the effort to do all you can for your son.

    I had the honour of teaching a gifted child. She was in grade two working on projects that grade eight students struggled with. How do you teach a child that is smarter than you? Simple. You don’t. You give them tools, ideas, and a bit of direction. Many people have the misconception that gifted children don’t need these things.

    Reply
  • 3. Karin  |  August 18, 2006 at 2:41 pm

    Love your dad’s beard – looks like a Cornish fisherman, appropriate then that he likes cornish pasties – LOL.

    As to gifted Mr L – know the feeling, I have a gifted Miss E, it’s knowing how to strike the right balance. I like Cammy’s idea.

    Reply
  • 4. Sue Jones  |  August 20, 2006 at 9:41 am

    You know my email addy and you know my phone number (don’t you)?
    Anyway, I may not have a gifted child (we had the other end of the spectrum with Mr Almost-17’s last report card – don’t start me on that). But my life is anything but normal. lol
    Whinge and whine away m’dear.

    Reply
  • 5. Sue Jones  |  August 20, 2006 at 9:42 am

    Oh, I meant to say.
    Mr L is the spitting image of your dad (who is the spitting image of Santa – lol).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

More


