Finding a happy thing…

July 4, 2006 at 8:29 pm 3 comments

Have you got a happy thing? Something that cheers you up when you see it, lets you know all is right with the world?
My “thing”, my happy thing, is birds. Birds of prey, to be precise. Eagles, hawks, falcons, hobbys. I am lucky that we live in an area abundant in bird life of all kinds, but I do love my birds of prey.
There’s something that I love about driving about – whether to the shops, or to school or anywhere really – and spotting a bird out hunting.
bskite.jpgMy favourite is the black shouldered kite (that’s not my pic BTW). These little fellows are everywhere about, often in pairs, hovering beside the road. I can often see 5 on the way in to do the shopping each week. I know which trees beside the road they favour and look for them there.
I also know which power pole the brown falcon likes to sit on, which trees the wedge tail eagles sit, which paddock the swamp harriers are likely to be in and where to spot the little hobbys on the power lines.
I wouldn’t say it’s an obsession, looking out for them. It’s my comfort thing, my happy thing. They make me smile when I spot them, make me think all is right with my world. Odd? Maybe. Good? Definately. We all need a little happy thing, right?

My other happy thing is (fingers crossed) my new computer returning home tomorrow. A RAM issue, apparently, that is now fixed. Can’t wait. Can’t wait to get this old beast off the kitchen table either. Not quite as good as seeing a white bellied sea eagle hunting on a summers day, but pretty exciting all the same. 🙂

Catch ya…
K

Entry filed under: Life.

Happy Monday… Solid…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cammy  |  July 5, 2006 at 1:48 am

    Hi Karen! This is a great post. In the past, birds sort of freaked me out. It might have something to do with the summer that I spent with my uncle. He had twelve birds living in his house. They scared the daylights out of me! But I’m starting to come around.

    Great topic. I’ll have to post my happy thing later today.

    Reply
  • 2. Victoria  |  July 5, 2006 at 11:15 pm

    Your happy thing is very cool! My husband is always on the look out for Hawks of every kind, but his favorite is the Peregrine Falcon. He has quite an affinity for them.

    Reply
  • 3. Tania  |  July 6, 2006 at 3:46 am

    Birds of Prey are so majestic!! Yay for your computer coming soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

More


